African Partners Determined to Further Improve Their Nuclear Security

In 2020, despite the turbulent and uncertain global situation, the African countries participating in the EU CBRN ECA CoE Project 60 continued their long-term risk mitigation work that is at the heart of the Project’s objectives.

During its first stage (2017-2020), the Project provided technical assistance to improve regulatory and institutional frameworks in line with international standards, to increase the capacities for safe and secure management of radioactive sources and control over orphan sources, and to prepare national RN emergency response plans and lists of assessed equipment needs.

The second stage of Project 60 is focused on enhanced regional cooperation to prevent illicit trafficking of radioactive materials through border monitoring, and the creation of mobile teams for coordinated inspection of radioactive sources at border crossings.

The Team of experts provided advice through remote communication.[i] A Table for comparative analysis of existing laws and regulations in the Project participating countries was created using as benchmarks relevant international instruments. The resulting recommendations were based on the principles of prime responsibility, graded approach, defence in depth and risk-informed approach.

The challenges become even greater in transboundary transport or in trade in sources. IAEA safety and security requirements need to be observed universally. To this end, the Project aims at creating networks of interaction among African partners in activities such as transport permissions, delivery tracking and dual-use control.

The Project is a prime example of Africa-Europe partnership in the field of nuclear security. It was chosen as a reference project in the planned EU-Africa virtual summit and the session on the CBRN COE contributions to international cooperation. The Project’s analyses, in-depth reports, online resources, and periodic newsletters are the go-to resource for practitioners, scholars, students, and citizen advocates.

[i] The teleconferences with the participating states took place on the dates indicated in brackets: DRC (24 July 2020 and 4 December 2020), Kenya (24 July 2020 and 9 December 2020), Uganda (23 July 2020 and 11 December 2020), Ethiopia (22 July 2020 and 7 December 2020), Seychelles (22 July 2020 and 10 December 2020 ), Malawi (13 July 2020 and 7 December 2020), Tanzania (19 August 2020 and 9 December 2020), Rwanda (9 December 2020), Zambia (10 December 2020) and Ghana (26 August 202018 and December 2020)